When in Rome

Rome is home to the most amazing historical sites located in Europe. It is where legacies have been made and legends created. Rome being the capital city of Italy is quite populous with an estimated population averaging 3 million people. It has a Mediterranean type of climate, and Catholicism is the predominant religion. There are many places of interest you can visit as a tourist.

Roman Colosseum

Rome’s¬†Colosseum is the most impressive of the historical sites which you must check out. This gigantic amphitheatre was built in AD 80 by Emperor Vespasian and it was popular for its gladiators who dueled to the death.

Bridge views in Rome, Italy
Image by Walkerssk from Pixabay

Roman Forums

The Roman Forum is the next stop for a first time visitor or returning visitor. The forum constitutes of remains of the ancient temples and arches. It was mainly used as a ceremonial ground, a place to solve legal issues, and also where business could be transacted in peace. It is an amazing center to visit.

The Pantheon

The Pantheon was built by order of Hadrian the Emperor to house Roman gods. It was later turned into a church by early Christians. This historical site gives a better understanding of religious history and what particular factors influenced the growth of Christianity.

Capitoline Museums

The Capitoline Museums is another exciting historical site for tourists. Pope Clement XII founded it in mid 18th Century for the main purpose of archiving the history of Rome. It houses many archeological objects and works of art that are of great value to tourists. One of the most famous work of art that you are able to see is the Wolf Bronze.

Piazza Navona

Piazza Navona was originally built to host athletic contests, and it traces its history way back to the 1st Century. The existence of the black obelisk from Egypt proves bilateral ties that ancient royalties had. It is one place that you cannot afford to miss out when visiting Rome.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *